appc loginbar

Log in


Oversight Committee

About the Head Start Oversight Committee

In April of 2003, the AFL-CIO Appalachian Council, Inc. Board of Directors authorized the establishment of an Oversight Committee to act on their behalf pursuant to the oversight of the Appalachian Council’s Head Start program. 

The purpose of the Head Start Oversight Committee is to oversee key responsibilities related to program governance and to ensure that the program is meeting and abiding by all guidelines, policies, rules, and regulations as required by the Administration for Children and Families, Office of Head Start

In addition, the Oversight Committee provides legal, general, and fiscal oversight while participating in the planning and organization of the Head Start Project in accordance with the Head Start Act, and therefore assisting Head Start staff and parents to become more effective in bringing about positive change for the benefit of their families.

Although the AFL-CIO Appalachian Council, Inc. Board of Directors retains all legal and fiscal responsibility for the Head Start program, the Oversight Committee is tasked with its overall governance.

Click here to access more info about the current members of the Head Start Oversight Committee.

Executive Committee

Josh Sword—Chair, AFL WV 
Doris Crouse-Mays—AFL VA
Tim Burga—AFL OH
Patrick Maroney—Kanawha County

General Members

Sara Roush—Policy Council Chair
Dan Poling—Wood County
Teddy Hapney—Roane County
Sandra Potasnik—Clay County
Robin Hudson—Calhoun County
Robert Seabolt—Kanawha County
David Lancaster—Pleasants County 
Janet Somerville—Wirt County
Mercedes Castle—Putnam County

VACANT—Boone County 
VACANT—Doddridge County
VACANT—Tyler County
VACANT—Jackson County